Go back to blog homepage

The 10 visa identifiers

Written by on with 0 comments

Visa subclasses are given a 3 digit identifier. The first digit indicates the following:

0: Bridging visa

1: Permanent visas and offshore migrant visas (generally)

2: Offshore humanitarian visas

3: Temporary visas that lead to permanent visas

4: Temporary visas

5: Student visas

6: Visitor visas

7: Transit and border visas

8: Onshore permanent residence visas

9: Other visas

For example, a subclass 457 visa would mean that it is a temporary visa because the first digit is “4”.

Photography by Jason Nguyen

If you would like ImmiAdvisor to blog about a specific topic please email sapna@immiadviser.com

IMPORTANT NOTICE: ImmiAdvisor recommends you obtain your own independent immigration, legal, accounting, financial or taxation advice as appropriate. It is solely your responsibility to evaluate the accuracy, completeness and usefulness of all information provided through this blog/website. In no event will ImmiAdvisor Pty Ltd be liable to you or anyone else for any decision made or action taken by you or anyone else in reliance upon any information contained on or omitted from this blog/website.

Leave a comment